Methodology and sources
How we got these numbers
Each figure on the homepage was read from the public page linked here on October 17, 2026. A number that page does not state is not shown.
Los Angeles preliminary plan check
LADBS: “Take the completed Case Management Service Request form to any LADBS cashier and pay the required $208.00 plus a 3% Development Service Center Charge and a 6% Systems Surcharge fee prior to the scheduled appointment time.” “Each appointment will be limited up to a maximum of 1.5 hours.” The page does not print a combined total, so the homepage quotes those rates instead of a computed dollar amount.
San Diego preliminary review
Information Bulletin 513, Preliminary Review, September 2026, re-read October 19, 2026: “Single Discipline Review Flat Fee” “$1,588.73”. “Mapping Fee” “This fee is charged when plans, drawings, maps or other geographical documents are utilized for project review.” “$12.16”. “Your project will be assigned to a reviewer who will prepare a written response to your questions approximately 20 business days after the date of submittal and payment of the invoice.” The multiple-discipline option uses the same “approximately 20 business days” sentence. Later: “You will be provided comments within 20 calendar days by your reviewer (single discipline) or your project manager (multiple discipline).” “Most Development Services fees change at least once annually.” The homepage word “weeks” cites the business-day sentence. The page does not add the two fees into one total.
San Diego will not answer an open-ended question
The same bulletin: “Open-ended/vague questions or questions designed to gather a lot of information at once (such as, “Will this project work?” or “Does this project comply with the zone?”) cannot be answered during a preliminary review.” It also says to check zoning and overlays before designing.
Los Angeles one-bedroom fair market rent
Federal Register, April 21, 2026 (91 FR 21301): “The revised FY 2026 FMRs are effective on May 21, 2026.” Table header “0 BR” “1 BR” “2 BR” “3 BR” “4 BR”. “Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale, CA HUD Metro FMR Area........ $2,079 $2,328 $2,903 $3,681 $4,098”. “The FMRs are based on surveys conducted by the area public housing agencies (PHAs) and reflect the estimated 40th percentile rent levels trended to FY 2026.” The one-bedroom figure is $2,328.
San Diego one-bedroom fair market rent
HUD FY 2026 FMR documentation, metro table (selection_type=hmfa): “Final FY 2026 FMR” one-bedroom “$2,459” (two-bedroom “$3,001”). “All information here applies to the entirety of the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA MSA.” The ZIP table on the same documentation system says: “All Housing Choice Voucher programs operated in the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA MSA will use Small Area FMRs as defined by ZIP Codes.” The homepage uses $2,459 as a metro-wide benchmark, not as the rent for a ZIP or an ADU.
State ADU size and setbacks
Fetched October 17, 2026, the statute pages for Gov. Code § 66321 and § 66323 at leginfo.legislature.ca.gov returned HTTP 403 (a “Just a moment…” challenge, not the statute text). The homepage does not state a square footage or a setback distance as confirmed statute text. Reports still cite those sections by name and mark a rule verify when the data cannot settle it.